Scott MacPherson, our founding Artistic Director, built a legacy of choral conducting in South Texas during his 9 year tenure with the San Antonio Chamber Choir. To honor his legacy, we have created The MacPherson Prize.  The MacPherson Prize recognizes excellence in choral conducting by an educator or professional choral conductor in Texas who exemplifies Scott MacPherson’s passion for choral music and dedication to the craft of choral conducting. Candidates are considered based on artistic merit as demonstrated by his or her abilities, cumulative body of work, and contribution to the art form in Texas.

The MacPherson Prize


2023 Recipient Spotlight: 

SACC is so excited to announce our MacPherson Prize winner for 2023: Dr. Lynne Gackle

Dr. Gackle currently serves as the Director of Choral Activities at Baylor University and holds the Mary Jane Gibbs Professor of Music Chair.  She conducts Baylor Bella VoceBaylor Concert Choir, teaches choral conducting, choral literature and serves as the Director of the Ensemble Division.  Prior to her Baylor appointment, Lynne taught at the University of South Florida, University of Mississippi and the University of Miami (FL).  She received her education from LSU (BME) and the University of Miami (MM/PhD) in Coral Gables, FL.  She is an active clinician and conductor and has held various positions within the American Choral Directors Association, including President, Southern Division and ACDA-Florida and currently serves as the National President.  She also served as the TCDA-VP of Collegiate/Community Choirs. Gackle is the editor of Choral Artistry for the Singer (Walton Music/GIA) and the Lynne Gackle Choral Series (Colla Voce).  Recognized for her research on the female adolescent voice, Lynne is the author of Finding Ophelia’s Voice, Opening Ophelia’s Heart (Heritage) and is a contributing author for other books published by GIA, Oxford, and Hal Leonard/McGraw Hill.  She holds memberships in ACDA, TMEA, TCDA, and NATS. She and her husband, Merlin, reside in Woodway, TX.


2019 – Dr. Christopher Aspaas, Texas Christian University
2017 – Dr. Steven Holcomb, Dallas Baptist University